About Us

U3A Melbourne City is the oldest U3A in Australia, established in 1984. Our activities are centred around the Melbourne CBD, although some members travel in from the outer suburbs.

We are a self-funded, voluntary organisation formed to provide learning and social opportunities to members aged 50+ who are retired or working part-time. A committee of management is elected annually and all administration and tutoring is by volunteers. We ask everyone to help where they can, be it tutoring, administration or event organisation.

* VCAT has exempted U3A Melbourne City from the age discrimination section of the Equal Opportunity Act 2010.


U3A Melbourne City is run by its members, for its members. Governance is undertaken by the Committee of Management, supported by volunteers. Current governance documents (such as the annual report, AGM minutes and organisation policies) are available online in our Document Library.

Committee Members

PresidentRussell Huntington
Vice-PresidentAnn Johns
SecretaryJane Tulloch
TreasurerPauline Lomas
MemberJulienne Wight
MemberKai Simpson
MemberMerilyn Harris
MemberPaul Wilkinson
MemberPeter Lawson
MemberSharon Carter
← Scroll to view →

Supporters & Life Members

Many U3A members and friends have made special contributions to the life and work of U3A Melbourne City since its establishment in 1985.


  • The Council of Adult Education, which provided an institutional home from 1985 to 2001.
  • RMIT University, which provided an institutional home from 2002 to 2005.
  • Anni Cleary, who built and maintained our first website for ten years on a volunteer basis.
  • The office of Adam Bandt MP, Federal Member for Melbourne, for supporting the production of our newsletter in the past.
  • The CPSU for their sponsorship and generous support of U3A Melbourne City, including access to rooms at the CPSU building.

We are also grateful for the support of the following organisations:

  • City of Melbourne
  • Victorian State Government, Department of Health and Human Services
  • Learn Local
  • U3A Network Victoria
  • Ross House Association
  • The Florey Institute
  • Microsoft
  • Commonwealth Department of Social Services

Life Members

Honorary Life Membership is the highest honour that U3A Melbourne City bestows upon a member for service to the organisation. The criteria for life membership are:

  • The member has been a financial member contributing over a total of ten years, not necessarily continuously
  • The member be classified as core
  • Their contribution be deemed to be critical and/or outstanding
  • The nominee must be proposed by two members or the President

To nominate someone for Honorary Life Membership, please complete the nomination form and submit it to the U3A Melbourne City Secretary.

For the life members listed below, click on the name to see the valued contribution that was the basis of their award.

Current Life Members
John BesleyPresident, Committee, Tutor2009
Marguerite GrynbergTutor2011
Will SemlerTutor2011
Margaret LedleyTutor2011
Ann HewettTutor2011
George BoagCommittee, Tutor2012
Blair CramerTutor2012
Judy EldredTutor2012
Christina HillTutor2012
Juliette ZeelanderTutor2013
Alma KristensenTutor2014
Betty CaldwellTutor2015
Hilary AdairTutor2016
Helena LingOffice, Committee2016
Peter SalmonTutor, Committee2016
Jill ThompsonTutor, President, Founding member2016
John WaldieTutor2017
Rom JagielskiTutor2017
Julie NankervisCourse Coordinator, Committee2018
Rhonda FavaloroTutor, Committee2018
Fran SciarrettaOffice, Committee2018
Jack FoksTutor, Committee2020
Tony MilesCommittee, Promotions WG2020
Margaret ReesCommittee, Office, Tutor2020
Pat CollinsTutor, Office2021
Margaret SmithCommittee, Tutor, Office2021
Max WarlondCommittee, Tutor2021
Former Life Members
Nan Wingfield  President, Committee, Office Manager2006
John CrampTutor2007
Dorothy DavisTutor2013
Marie Einoder  Tutor2007
Lillian Emmanuel Tutor2008
Alan Liubinas Treasurer, Committee2008
Margaret Shilton Tutor2008
Joyce Bromage Committee, Secretary, Office2008
Eva Meredith  Tutor, Committee, Office, Room Bookings2009
Ailsa Miles Committee, Secretary, Office2009
Val Pincus Committee, Social Secretary, Office, Group Leader2010
Shirley Mason Social Coordinator, Committee, Office2020